National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM)

National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) is the scheme implemented by the Ministry of Rural Development with the goal of making rural areas poverty free. The scheme was previously known as Swarnajayanti Grameen Swarojgar Yojna (SGSY) which later on in the year 2011 was re-launched with some modifications and by National Rural Livelihood Mission. Under this scheme the rural people are guided on how to be a self-employed and organize their work in order to earn better and make life better. What makes this scheme big is, it is funded by World Bank with the fund of $1 billion.

Benefits of National Rural Livelihood Mission:

  • With the initiative of this scheme rural people are motivated to join self-help groups due to which sharing of ideas takes place and good network is created.
  • Due to formation of good network and sharing of ideas there are many possibilities that good business setup will take place in rural areas.
  • End of dependencies: By getting started with self-employment there will be economic stability in the village which will bring more opportunities in the village.    

Eligibility for National Rural Livelihood Mission:

Instead of BPL card this scheme has Participatory Identification of Poor (PIP) which is being surveyed by CBOs and is community driven process, whoever is identified as poor by this survey is eligible for the scheme.

Document required for National Rural Livelihood Mission:

A person who can apply for the scheme is only decided after the CBOs finish their survey of identifying poor people in the locality hence there is not any such need of document beforehand the survey. Once survey is finished document requirement are informed to the applicant.

Whom to contact and where to contact for getting benefits of National Rural Livelihood Mission.

  1. Gram Panchayats.
  2. Nagar Palikas.
  3. Municipal Corporation.

Online Form to enroll for National Rural Livelihood Mission:

Since the very first stage is the survey, application forms are available to only those who secure Participatory Identification of Poor (PIP). So, to get form contact local govt. bodies like gram panchayats, Nagar Palikas, CBOs office and such.

To know more about the details and FAQs visit the link




Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





National Pension Scheme (NPS)