Vikalp Scheme by Indian Railway / विकल्प योजना – भारतीय रेल

Indian Railway launched new scheme named as Vikalp. The Scheme offers a facility to the passengers of getting alternate accommodation in another train if they do not get confirmed berths in the trains they have booked for or the train of their choice. Vikalp scheme launched on the pilot basis on Delhi-Lucknow and Delhi-Jammu sector route only. Through Vikalp, Indian Railway going to provide confirmed tickets to passengers on the waiting list, in an alternative train on the same route to make their travel smoother and hassle-free. The scheme has been implemented in Mail/ Express & Superfast trains in India. Once a vikalp passenger has been allotted alternate accommodation, journey modification will not be permitted. No extra charges are taken from the passenger or any refund is provided for difference of fare. The Vikalp facility is being extended to Delhi-Howrah, Delhi-Mumbai, Delhi-Chennai, Delhi-Bangalore and Delhi-Secunderabad routes. Currently, vikalp is available for online ticket booking. Passengers logging into the IRCTC website will have to choose ‘Vikalp’ as an option while booking itself. When you choose ‘Vikalp’ a pop-up appears where you have to agree to the terms and conditions of the same. Then if your ticket is not confirmed, you will get a message on your registered mobile number

What is Vikalp Scheme?

  1. Vikalp scheme is mainly a scheme which will provide alternative train reservation for the traveling passengers of Indian Railways. Vikalp scheme will help the passengers to get into an alternative train if their original train tickets aren’t confirmed. This scheme will also help the passengers in wait list of Indian Railways. Vikalp Scheme will be useful because it will allow the passengers to opt for alternative accommodation to get confirmed berths

Salient Features of Vikalp Scheme:

  1. The Alternate Train Accommodation Scheme (ATAS) is presently being launched under the name “Vikalp” on pilot basis only for the tickets booked through internet on two sectors i.e. Delhi-Jammu and Delhi-Lucknow sectors
  2. The scheme is presently being implemented only across Mail/Express trains of the same category
  3. Under Vikalp, wait-listed passengers of a train can opt for confirmed seats on alternate trains
  4. No refund will be provided and also no extra money will be charged for difference in fares
  5. A passenger allotted alternate seat could travel in the alternate train on authority of the original ticket
  6. Passengers in the wait list of a train will not be allowed to board it if allotted seat on alternate train
  7. In case, if the passenger in the waiting list travels on the same train, he or she will be treated as traveling without ticket and fined accordingly
  8. Opting for the scheme did not mean a confirmed berth will be provided to a passenger in the alternate train. It is subjected to availability
  9. Once confirmed in alternate train, the ticket cancellation charges will be as per the berth or train status in the alternate train
  10. Either all passengers of a PNR or none will be transferred to alternate train in same class
  11. In rare situations, passengers who have been provided alternate accommodation might get dropped/re-allotted in the alternate train due to last minute change in the composition of the alternate train at the time of chart preparation. So, passengers who have been provided alternate accommodation should check PNR status also after preparation of charts of the alternate train for final status
  12. Once an ATAS passenger has been allotted alternate accommodation, journey modification will not be permitted. If required, the passenger will have to cancel the ticket and book a fresh ticket for modified journey
  13. When a passenger who has been allotted alternate accommodation has not performed his journey in the alternate train, he can claim for refunds by filing a TDR request

Contact Details:

  1. Indian railways inquiry no: 139

References & Details:

  1. For more information about Vikalp Scheme visit:
  2. Indian Railways:

One Rank One Pension (OROP)/ समान रैंक, समान पेंशन

Pradhan Mantri Khanij Kshetra Kalyan Yojana (PMKKKY)