National Family Benefit Scheme (NFBS)

The National Family Benefit Scheme is started by Central Government (Ministry of Women and Child Development) and also implemented by Odisha State Government for the security of the family. The main objective behind implementing this scheme is if in case accidentally any death of the primary bread earner of families living below the poverty line, the bereaved families are assisted with a financial assistance of Rs. 20,000

Basically, this scheme is only for those people who live under the below poverty line (BPL) so that if due to any reason death happen of bread earner then government provides financial assistance to such families for getting them back on track and provide the stability. Poor people from the state only eligible for getting benefits of this scheme

Benefits of National Family Benefit Scheme:

  • National Family Benefit Scheme provides benefits in the form of financial assistance and financial security of family
  • Under this scheme, the family will get the financial help of Rs. 20,000 after death of primary bread earner

Required eligibility and conditions for applying National Family Benefit Scheme:

  1. The scheme is implemented by central government that’s why all citizens of India are eligible but requirement and conditions of respective state may be different from Odisha government mentioned below
  2. Candidate or family must belong to below poverty line (BPL)
  3. Candidate must be permanent residents of Odisha state

Document required for applying National Family Benefit Scheme:

  1. Aadhar card
  2. BPL ration card
  3. Residence proof e.g. certificate of residence authority
  4. Death certificate of primary bread earner

Application procedure:

  1. Applicant can download application form by clicking this link:
  2. The applicant can submit it to

Contact Details:

  1. Women and child development department Odisha
  2. Social welfare department of Odisha state

References & details:

For more details regarding documents and other help please visit official website:

Deendayal Disabled Rehabilitation Scheme (DDRS)

North Eastern Council Scholarship (NECS)