National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS)

The National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme is introduced by central government (ministry of human resources and development) in May 2008. The main objective of the scheme is to provide scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to continue their drop out at class 8th and encourage them to continue the study at the secondary stage. Scholarship of Rs. 6000/- per annum (Rs.500/- per month) per student is awarded to selected students every year for study in classes from 9th to 12th in State Government.  The selection of students to the award of the scholarships is made through an examination conducted by the State Governments. Scholarships are given by the State Bank of India directly into the bank accounts of students on the quarterly basis. The scholarships will be paid from class 9th till class 12th for a maximum period of four years.

Benefits of National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme:

  • Poor and economically weaker section students will be able to continue school after 8th
  • Under National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme Scholarship of Rs. 6000/- per annum (Rs.500/- per month) per student will be given to the beneficiary students.

Eligibility for getting benefits of National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme:

  1. Beneficiary’s parental income must have below Rs – 1, 50,000 (1.5 lakh)
  2. Beneficiary does not take any job
  3. The students must pass both the tests i.e. Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) with at least 40% marks in each. For the reserved category, this cut-off will be 32% marks
  4. Beneficiary must have well of meritorious academic record
  5. The beneficiary must have passed selection exam taken by NCERT for scholarship allotment.
  6. In case any beneficiary leaves his/her course of study within one month of registration/admission, no scholarship shall be paid to him/her
  7. For continuing the scholarship in class 10th and 12th  the beneficiary should get clear promotion from class 9th  to class 10th  and from class 11th  to class 12th  in the first attempt with 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST).
  8. The beneficiary must obtain a minimum of 60 percent marks in Class 10th (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST) examination or equivalent examination for the continuation of the scholarship at the higher secondary stage

Document required for getting benefits of National Merit Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme:

  1. The beneficiary must have the joint bank account with parents in State Bank of India (SBI).
  2. Bank details e.g. IFSC code, MICR code, Branch name.
  3. School documents e.g. Marksheet.
  4. Address proof e.g. Aadhar card
  5. Identity proof e.g. School identity card.
  6. Self-attested passport size photograph with signature.
  7. Income proof below (1.5 lakh)

Procedure for selection:

  1. Each state will conduct its own test for selection of students. The state level exam may consist of following test
  2. Mental Ability Test (MAT) – Mental Ability Test will consist of 90 multiple-choice questions it will cover verbal and nonverbal reasoning etc
  3. Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) – may consist of 90 multiple-choice questions covering subjects namely, science, social studies and mathematics as taught in classes 7th and 8th 

Whom to contact and where to contact:

  1. The beneficiary can contact to his/her school

Online registration form is available here:


For more information visit here:


Procedure to apply for US Work Visa (H-1B Visa)

Post-Matric Scholarship Scheme for OBC Students